top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMeg McIrvin

Unofficial Job Offer!

Yes, you read that right. I got an unofficial job offer, and it is better than the two jobs I had a scheduled interview for. Went to the Papa John interview and was less than thrilled after. The manager was this guy who seemed like he really didn't care much and repeated his questions. Also, the job was not just a driver, and that I would be mainly inside working, which was the last thing want. Fun fact, drivers make less than minimum wage while they are out on a call. Papa Johns only pays a measly $6 an hour... and most calls are less than 10 minutes.


Get back to the hotel to relax and eat lunch while waiting to leave for the next interview. That's when I got the call. Didn't even get an interview, she offered me the unofficial job right there! I was so excited just to get someone from the school district to call me, that I forgot to ask which position. I told her I submitted so much and to just get my foot in the door made me happy. When she told me the position was for a substitute teacher, I literally got up and danced around! She said it was refreshing to hear someone so excited about a position and I told her this is the first job where my Associates's Degree actually came in handy. The other questions she asked were my grade preference, location preference, and if I wanted to bounce around from school to school or one set school work 4+ days and get benefits.


Obviously, I picked the set school with benefits. As much as Claire wanted me to work at her school, there was no way I wanted to be a substitute teacher for a bunch of kids like her age! Of course, I wanted an elementary school and the preferred school was the one next to Claire's middle school. Of course, I did mention if there is a bigger need at a different elementary school that I would be happy to go there too. So tomorrow after I get Claire to school, I will be heading to the school district to fill out all the paperwork. Once the background check clears, (I know it will) then I will get the official offer, what school, and when I would start. I do plan to ask if I will get any training or guidance to help me get started. I have butterflies, of excitement, and being super nervous.


So many projects so little time. I write down the temperature and for now, that is all that is going into the temperature blanket. I want to get Suzie's February Garland made, currently working on one of the end pieces. Of course, this one is a practice one and there are a few things I need to see about it before making hers since it is a written pattern and I am super new to reading patterns. I am also working on my new friend's tarot pad, which is another complicated pattern since the video I got the pattern from, the lady showing you how to do it was absolutely awful at teaching someone what she did. This means this is my first pattern of creating something new but based on someone else. The pressure is on.


Claire had a cold for the past few days and I am REALLY hoping I don't catch it. I know it isn't COVID because she didn't lose her sense of smell. But if you have a cough, most people think you have COVID and you need to go take the test. Ryan applied to a bunch of jobs this weekend, so I have been praying to the Gods and Goddesses to help him get something this coming week.


Well, I guess that is it for now. Surprisingly made it on time and the second week in a row. Go me!


Until next time,

Meg

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Meg is on Meds

Yes, you read that right. This past Monday (7/18), I started taking half a pill of Sertraline for my depression. So far, I am willing not...

Lost.

The ruling that just happened with Wade has left me feeling all kinds of emotions and those that are closest to me have been having a...

Comments


bottom of page